Pradosh 2021 Vrat Dates

Pradosh 2021 Vrat Dates

Pradosh vrat is also known as trayodashi vrat. This day is considerably dedicated to goddess Parvati and lord shiva. According to the Puranas, if you observe fast on this particular day, it gives you better health and longer life. This fast comes two times a month.

What do you mean by Pradosh Vrat?

The Pradosh vrat is a day which is considered to be the promising day of the years. On this day, all the sins are deleted, and all the prayers have come true.

Pradosh 2021 Dates

DAY DATE PRADOSH NAME
Sunday January 10, 2021,  Pradosh Vrat
Tuesday January 26, 2021, Bhauma Pradosh Vrat
Tuesday February 9, 2021,  Bhauma Pradosh Vrat
Wednesday February 24, 2021,  Pradosh Vrat
Wednesday March 10, 2021,  Pradosh Vrat
Friday March 26, 2021,  Pradosh Vrat
Friday April 9, 2021, Pradosh Vrat
Saturday April 24, 2021,  Shani Pradosh Vrat
Saturday May 8, 2021, Shani Pradosh Vrat
Monday May 24, 2021,  Soma Pradosh Vrat
Monday June 7, 2021, Soma Pradosh Vrat
Tuesday June 22, 2021 Bhauma Pradosh Vrat
Wednesday July 7, 2021,  Pradosh Vrat
Wednesday July 21, 2021,  Pradosh Vrat
Thursday August 5, 2021,  Pradosh Vrat
Friday August 20, 2021, Pradosh Vrat
Saturday September 4, 2021, Shani Pradosh Vrat
Saturday September 18, 2021, Shani Pradosh Vrat
Monday October 4, 2021, Soma Pradosh Vrat
Sunday October 17, 2021, Pradosh Vrat
Tuesday November 2, 2021, Bhauma Pradosh Vrat
Tuesday November 16, 2021, Bhauma Pradosh Vrat
Thursday December 2, 2021,  Pradosh Vrat
Thursday December 16, 2021, Pradosh Vrat
Friday December 31, 2021, Pradosh Vrat

Importance of Pradosh Vrat

The importance of Pradosh Vrat is that on this particular day, lord shiva gives blessings to his devotees as well as we Indians offer prayers to lord shiva to attain moksha.

Different types of Pradosh Vrat

  1. Pradosh Vrat  (Krishna)
  2. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  3. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  4. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  5. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  6. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  7. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  8. Shani Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  9. Shani Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  10. Soma Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  11. Soma Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  12. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  13. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  14. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  15. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  16. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  17. Shani Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  18. Shani Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  19. Soma Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  20. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  21. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  22. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  23. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  24. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  25. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)

Pradosh Vrat Katha

One of the famous legendary tales associated with Pradosh is there in the Skanda Purana. Once there was an old widow who used to step out of her house with her son to get alms to run her living. When she was going back to her house, she saw a young boy lying on the ground injured. She knew that she doesn’t have enough to feed three mouths. However, she decides to take the boy home and help him. 

The older woman didn’t know that the boy she gave shelter to was the Prince of Vidarbha, Dharmagupta. The boy’s father was defeated and killed by the enemies, and he also lost his mother. After a few days, when the boy’s wound started healing, the older woman took him and her son to the temple, and there she encountered Sage Shandilya. He told her who that boy was and all about his identity. She got overwhelmed after learning that the boy was a prince.

Sage suggested that she should keep a Vrat on Pradosh and take the blessings of Lord Shiva. As she kept the fast, the boys also wanted to take part in the Pradosh Vrat.

The years went by, and the two boys grew up precisely like brothers. On a beautiful day, when they went to the jungle, Dharmagupta saw Anshumati, a Gandharva princess. They fell in love on their first encounter. After the princess expressed her desire to marry Dharmagupta, her father visited the old widow’s house. There he learned the real identity of Dharmagupta and all about his past.

Dharmagupta married Anshumati and won back his kingdom, Vidarbha, with the help of her father. In the end, the prince took the older woman and her son to his kingdom. So, they received the benefits of keeping a Pradosh Vrat.

You may read more about other Hindu vrat datesIndian festivals and today panchang and muhurat.