Pradosh 2022 Vrat Dates

Pradosh 2022 Vrat Dates

Pradosh vrat is also known as trayodashi vrat. This day is considerably dedicated to goddess Parvati and lord shiva. According to the Puranas, if you observe fast on this particular day, it gives you better health and longer life. This fast comes two times a month.

What do you mean by Pradosh Vrat?

The Pradosh vrat is a day which is considered to be the promising day of the years. On this day, all the sins are deleted, and all the prayers have come true.

Pradosh 2022 Dates

DAY DATE PRADOSH NAME
Saturday January 15, 2022,  Shani Pradosh Vrat
Sunday January 30, 2022,  Ravi Pradosh Vrat
Monday February 14, 2022, Soma Pradosh Vrat
Monday February 28, 2022, Soma Pradosh Vrat
Tuesday March 15, 2022,  Bhauma Pradosh Vrat
Tuesday March 29, 2022,  Bhauma Pradosh Vrat
Thursday April 14, 2022,  Guru Pradosh Vrat
Thursday April 28, 2022,  Guru Pradosh Vrat
Friday May 13, 2022,  Shukra Pradosh Vrat
Friday May 27, 2022,  Shukra Pradosh Vrat
Sunday June 12, 2022, Ravi Pradosh Vrat
Sunday June 26, 2022, Ravi Pradosh Vrat
Monday July 11, 2022, Soma Pradosh Vrat
Monday July 25, 2022, Soma Pradosh Vrat
Tuesday August 9, 2022,  Bhauma Pradosh Vrat
Wednesday August 24, 2022, Budha Pradosh Vrat
Thursday September 8, 2022, Guru Pradosh Vrat
Friday September 23, 2022, Shukra Pradosh Vrat
Friday October 7, 2022, Shukra Pradosh Vrat
Saturday October 22, 2022, Shani Pradosh Vrat
Saturday November 5, 2022, Shani Pradosh Vrat
Monday November 21, 2022, Soma Pradosh Vrat
Monday December 5, 2022,  Soma Pradosh Vrat
Wednesday December 21, 2022, Budha Pradosh Vrat

Importance of Pradosh Vrat

The importance of Pradosh Vrat is that on this particular day, lord shiva gives blessings to his devotees as well as we Indians offer prayers to lord shiva to attain moksha.

Different types of Pradosh Vrat

  1. Pradosh Vrat  (Krishna)
  2. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  3. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  4. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  5. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  6. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  7. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  8. Shani Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  9. Shani Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  10. Soma Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  11. Soma Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  12. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  13. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  14. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  15. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  16. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  17. Shani Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  18. Shani Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  19. Soma Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  20. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  21. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  22. Bhauma Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  23. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)
  24. Pradosh Vrat (Shukla)
  25. Pradosh Vrat (Krishna)

Pradosh Vrat Katha

One of the famous legendary tales associated with Pradosh is there in the Skanda Purana. Once there was an old widow who used to step out of her house with her son to get alms to run her living. When she was going back to her house, she saw a young boy lying on the ground injured. She knew that she doesn’t have enough to feed three mouths. However, she decides to take the boy home and help him. 

The older woman didn’t know that the boy she gave shelter to was the Prince of Vidarbha, Dharmagupta. The boy’s father was defeated and killed by the enemies, and he also lost his mother. After a few days, when the boy’s wound started healing, the older woman took him and her son to the temple, and there she encountered Sage Shandilya. He told her who that boy was and all about his identity. She got overwhelmed after learning that the boy was a prince.

Sage suggested that she should keep a Vrat on Pradosh and take the blessings of Lord Shiva. As she kept the fast, the boys also wanted to take part in the Pradosh Vrat.

The years went by, and the two boys grew up precisely like brothers. On a beautiful day, when they went to the jungle, Dharmagupta saw Anshumati, a Gandharva princess. They fell in love on their first encounter. After the princess expressed her desire to marry Dharmagupta, her father visited the old widow’s house. There he learned the real identity of Dharmagupta and all about his past.

Dharmagupta married Anshumati and won back his kingdom, Vidarbha, with the help of her father. In the end, the prince took the older woman and her son to his kingdom. So, they received the benefits of keeping a Pradosh Vrat.

You may read more about other Hindu vrat datesIndian festivals and today panchang and muhurat.

Astrology Secrets