Ekadashi 2021 Vrat Dates

Ekadashi 2021 Vrat Dates

Ekadashi states a very significant role in Hinduism. This fast comes with magnificence. We do Ekadashi fast to worship lord Vishnu to get blessings from him. Ekadashi fast is a source to connect the human mind with lord Vishnu. It is believed that during Ekadashi, our brain accomplishes more ability to concentrate. According to Puranas, lord shiva himself meet Narada Ji to explain how Ekadashi fast helps eliminate their sins and go to heaven. Some related questions: when is Ekadashi, and what is the next date? 

What do you mean by Ekadashi?

As per the Hindu calendar, the Eleventh date of the paksha is called Ekadashi. It comes twice a month, one on the Eleventh day of Krishna paksha and one on the Eleventh day of Shukla paksha. People observe fast on Ekadashi to experience happiness and peace in their life.

Ekadashi 2021 Dates



Ekadashi Name


January 9, 2021

Saphala Ekadashi


January 24, 2021

Pausha Putrada Ekadashi


February 7, 2021,

Shattila Ekadashi


February 23, 2021

Jaya Ekadashi


March 9, 2021

Vijaya Ekadashi


March 25, 2021

Amalaki Ekadashi


April 7, 2021

Papmochani Ekadashi


April 23, 2021

Kamada Ekadashi


May 7, 2021

Varuthini Ekadashi


May 23, 2021

Mohini Ekadashi


June 6, 2021

Apara Ekadashi


June 21, 2021

Nirjala Ekadashi


July 5, 2021

Yogini Ekadashi


July 20, 2021

Devshayani Ekadashi


August 4, 2021

Kamika Ekadashi


August 18, 2021

Shravana Putrada Ekadashi


September 3, 2021

Aja Ekadashi


September 17, 2021

Varitini Ekadashi


October 2, 2021

Indira Ekadashi


October 16, 2021

Papankusha Ekadashi


November 1, 2021

Rama Ekadashi


November 14, 2021

Devutthana Ekadashi


November 30, 2021

Utpanna Ekadashi


December 14, 2021

Mokshada Ekadashi


December 30, 2021

Saphala Ekadashi

Importance of Ekadashi

The main reason to keep Ekadashi fast, so that our ancestors attain heaven. On this specific day, it is not allowed to have wheat, species, and vegetables, etc., for anyone who observes fast on that day. The preparation of Ekadashi starts a day before Ekadashi and the day we call it Dashmi. 

Different types of Ekadashi 

1. Utpana Ekadasi

2. Mokshada / Vaikuntha/ Mukkoti/ Gita Ekadasi

3. Saphala Ekadasi

4. Putrada Ekadasi

5. Sattila Ekadasi

6. Jaya / Bhishma Ekadasi

7. Vijaya Ekadasi

8. Amalaki Ekadasi

9. Paapmochani Ekadasi

10. Kamada Ekadasi

11. Varutini Ekadasi

12. Mohini Ekadasi

13. Apara Ekadasi

14. Nirjala Ekadasi

15. Yogini Ekadasi

16. Deva-Sayana / Padma Ekadasi

17. Kamika Ekadasi

18. Putrada / Pavitropana Ekadasi

19. Aja / Annada Ekadasi

20. Parvartini / Parsva /Vamana Ekadasi

21. Indira Ekadasi

22. Papankusha Ekadasi

23. Rama Ekadasi

24. Haribhodini / Utthana Ekadasi

25. Adika masa – Padmini Ekadasi

26. Adhika masa – Parama Ekadasi

Ekadashi vrat Katha: 

There are many ways to observe Ekadashi, and there are different types of Kathaye. All stories have the same meaning, i.e., the Ekadashi vrat Katha was for King Yudhisthar, narrated by Shri Krishna himself. Like, e.g., Jaya / Bhishma Ekadasi:- According to the ancient tales, Indra dev was listening to Gandharva Music with Pushpadanta and Chitrasen. There were others present in the court as well, like Pushpadantas, daughter,

Pushpavati, Chitrasen’s wife, son, and grandson. When she saw Malyavan, Chitrasen’s grandson, Pushupati fell for him. They got carried away with admiring each other and distracted the musicians by adding the wrong notes in between. Indra Dev got angry due to their behavior and cursed Pushpavati and Malyavan. Due to this, they lost all their powers and were sent to Earth to live life as humans. 

Pushpavati and Malyavan tolerated the problems of life on Earth for many days. To get rid of this curse, they did fast on Ekadashi Tithi of Magha, Shukla Paksha, under the Peepal tree. Lord Vishnu, impressed by their devotion, relived them from Lord Indra’s curse, and they gained their powers again.

You may read more about other Hindu vrat dates, Indian festivals and today panchang and muhurat.