Nakshatra – Stars in Vedic Astrology

nakshatra in astrology

In Ancient times, learned Sages classified the zodiac into 27 constellations or Nakshatras of 13.20 degrees each. A Nakshatra is also known as a constellation or lunar mansion. According to Hindu mythology, all the 27 Nakshatras are Daksha's daughters, and Moon is married to each of them. The Moon spends nearby one day each in one constellation, and the lunar month has approximately 27 days, which is equal to the numbers of Nakshatras.

Nakshatras are divided according to many attributes, such as caste, sex, deity, owner, species, etc. The Nakshatra, where the native’s Moon is positioned at birth, is chiefly known as the birth star or Janma Nakshatra. These Nakshatras are further categorized into four quarters, called Pada. Each spans 3.20 degrees, called Navamsa. The planets’ placement in these subdivisions or padas is thoroughly studied for better predictions.

Each zodiac sign covers nine Padas in total. So, we can admit that Nakshatras are used for various purposes. One of its major uses is to figure out the starting point of the planetary period or dashas that divide the time in major periods and sub-periods and to choose an auspicious time or Muhurtha for any important activity.  

Importance of Nakshatra in Astrology

Nakshatra has a lot of applications and advantages. The Nakshatra Lord is the motorist of the Moon that progresses through Nakshatras. He can bring about exaltation, exhaustion, or lordships that astrology depicts.

You can't count on a single law in astrology as it is not always right. If a law has is that promising, people will take it to labs to prove its potential. However, astrology can ensure the depth and clearness one has of all the principles. 

While Parashara, Jaimini, and Bhrigu Systems are house-based, sign-based, and planet-based, respectively, Satyacharya System is Nakshatra based. Because of the Nakshatra Lord, there is a discipline in astrology. The Satyacharya System is based on the great book Satya Jatakam written by Maharishi Satyacharya. It encompasses the miraculous work Dhruv Nadi. Even Varahmihir in Brihat Jataka talks about Maharishi and his works with great respect. 

The Navtara Chakra is a great tool that helps in prediction with higher accuracy.

The system of any Rashi Dasha, including Vimshottari Dasha, is essentially the Moon's progression through Nakshatras, directed by the Nakshatra Lord. For people born in Ashwini Nakshatra, Lord Ketu is the Dasha ruler, a great predictive tool. The Dasha, indicative of the Nakshatra Lord, changes to that of Venus as the Moon progresses in a way that its Nakshatra changes from Ashwini to Bharani. 

The Nakshatra that comprises of Lagna, Moon, and other planets, is the tool used to decide major events. All that we consider is the distance of the Nakshatra between the planets to predict life. Its lord influences any planet placed in a specific Nakshatra. Since the Nakshatra Lord is also a planet and possesses some signs, the lord of the houses is absorbed in a particular Nakshatra. For instance, if the planet Mercury takes its position in Bharani Nakshatra, it will greatly affect Venus and moderate effects of Taurus and Libra. 

Daily predictions are not possible without Nakshatra. Several routine events occur because of transit through Nakshatras and not because of the transit of signs as most people think. Every Nakshatra has a special attribute, which can be predicted by understanding the Nakshatra lordship and placement. 

The whole KP (Krishnamurthy Paddhathi) System is based on Nakshatra Lordship. So if we have to go as per truth, there is no KP without Nakshatra Lord. Nakshatra exchange can alter the outcome of the entire Mahadashas and manipulate the entire lordships, and is as powerful as Rashi exchange.

The Nakshatra Lord is as important as planets or lords of houses. The fact of the matter is Nakshatras play an important role in determining the planetary strengths. Exaltation, debilitation, or any other activity effect, because of a planet's presence in a particular Pada, happens at specific degrees. They do not jut out beyond the entire sign.

All 27 Nakshatras, their Lords and basic qualities

Each Nakshatra has its basic quality and traits and has a specific Nakshatra Lord. For easy understanding, the same are given in the below table.

Basic quality/trait Nakshatra name Nakshatra Lord
Laghu or Kshipra (swift) Ashwini, Pushya, Hasta Ketu, Saturn, Moon
Mridu (tender) Mrigashira, Chitra, Anuradha, Revati Mars, Mars, Saturn, Mercury
Sthira (fixed) Rohini, Uttara Phalguni, Uttara Ashada, Uttara Bhadrapada Moon, Sun, Sun, Saturn
Chara (movable) Punarvasu, Swati, Shravana, Dhanishta, Shatabisha Jupiter, Rahu, Moon, Mars, Rahu
Tikshna (sharp) Ardra, Ashlesha, Jyeshtha, Moola Rahu, Mercury, Mercury, Ketu
Ugra or Krura (fierce) Bharani, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Purva Ashada Purva Bhadrapada Venus, Ketu, Venus, Venus, Jupiter
Misra (mixed) Krittika, Vishakha Sun, Jupiter

Mythology Characteristics, weakness, strengths, personalities of each Nakshatra

Each Nakshatra based on their basic traits has certain mythologies attached to it. People born in different Nakshatras have different weakness, strengths & habits. Each Nakshatra has given famous personalities to the World. Each Nakshatra has activation at different age of the native.

You may read more on all astrology houses and its significance, planetary transits and planets in different houses and signs.