Home Astrology Houses

12 houses in astrology/horoscope

Vedic Astrology: It is called 'Vedic Astrology' because it is known to have originated from the 'Vedas.' The astrology study involves stars, sun, moon, and all the nine planets in the solar system. It is based on the belief that these celestial bodies' movements impact the human body and its surroundings.! 

What are 12 houses in horoscope/birth chart

Each horoscope has 12 houses which divide the total birth chart for the different aspects/traits of a person's life. All these 12 houses in a horoscope get some planets in each of these houses and since all planets keep moving(rotating) some slow, some fast, each house gets some planets. This depends on the date, time, and place of birth of the person which house gets what planets. Many people err saying that place of birth does not affect the position of planets in the different houses. They are wrong as each place gets Sun and Moon at different times. Therefore, to read the results of houses in precision, we need to use accurate date, time, and place of birth. 

Now there are 12 houses but only nine planets in astrology. Therefore, some of the houses are likely to remain empty, and also some houses can have multiple planets. It all depends on the position of planets in the Sky at the time of your birth.    

Each 12 houses in Astrology in your horoscope represent different traits and aspects of your life. The results of these 12 houses in a horoscope depend on the position of all nine planets at the time of person's birth. Position of planet in different 12 houses in horoscope infuses the energies of that planet into the particular house. And this decide what will be results on the different traits of person's life based on these 12 kundli houses. 

There are 12 zodiac signs included in it—Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Libra, Virgo, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Besides, there are five elements—Earth (Bhumi), water (Jala), Fire (Agni), air (Vaayu), and sky (Aakash)—in nature, as explained in the Vedas. The astrologers ponder over these elements while checking the native's horoscope.   

The different Vedic Astrology houses explain and divide the areas of a native's life, depending on his horoscope, which is determined based on the native's accurate location and time and date of birth. The noticeable thing is that different houses rule different areas of one's life. 

Nevertheless, they are not as same as the zodiacal wheel. All these houses are linked with a different sign. Each one indicates a specific part of one's life. Now, I will explain about all these 12 houses in astrology in a horoscope with the main area of person's life that each house impacts. 

What are 12 houses in astrology?

Now I will explain what are the 12 houses in astrology. What these 12 houses in astrology represent in a person's life. What stage and age of a person's life these 12 houses in astrology assume the significance.  

1st House: Also known as ‘Ascendant’ or ‘Lagna,’ it is the house of self as it is a clear indication of you—the way you look. It includes your overall personality—childhood, body frame, physical appearance, nature, temperament, nature, health, ego, and sense of self. 

The mains parts shown by this house include your head and face. It includes the forehead, complexion, brain, etc.  To know more about it in detail, please click here.

2nd House: It is also known as the house of possessions and indicates your income or Dhana, including your belongings, finances, investments, etc. Your non-material things also fall under this house. It matches with Taurus. 

Various body organs governed by this house include the upper neck, bones, facial bones, mouth, nose, teeth, eyes, tongue, etc. It is not only confined to the material holdings but also the intangible, such as your voice. For more, click here.

3rd House: This house is related to Gemini and governs an individual's mental inclination and retention power. Besides, it is related to many other things—brothers and sisters, journeys, neighbours, habits, interests, etc. 

Various body parts ruled by this house include the nervous system, lungs, collar bones, shoulders, etc. Various problems crop up due to weak third house, such as respiratory problems, imbalances in the nervous system, etc.  To know more about it, click here

4th House: The fourth house is related to Cancer. It governs your houses and many other things, such as your relation with your mother, real estate matters, land, vehicles, etc. It is also known as Bandhu Bhava. 

Various body organs governed by it include digestive organs, breasts, and stomach. Coronary problems associated with it include lung disorders, physical ailments in breasts. To know more, click here.

5th House: Also known as Putra Bhava, it is the house of romance, pleasure, joy, playfulness, and creativity. It also signifies your intelligence and innovative skills. 

Various body parts governed by it include the spine, pancreas, stomach, upper and middle back, etc. If it is weak in your natal chart, it may give rise to spinal cord problems, heart problems, acidity, etc. For more, click here.

6th House: This house is related to your daily life routine, wellness, and health. Remember that your body falls under the first house, but your daily choice that affects your body is found in the 6th house. 

Various body parts governed by this house are appendix, small intestine, large intestine, navel, kidney, abdomen, etc.  If it is weak, it may give rise to the hernia, appendicitis, constipation, etc. Click here to know more.

7th House: Also famous Yuvati Bhava, it is the house of your partner or spouse. It is also the house of all types of partnerships, including business partnerships, and deals with your relationships' darker side. 

As the Libra sign governs this house, Venus planet is the indicator of this house that signifies romance, love, and sexuality.  

Various body parts governed by this house include ovaries, kidneys, and lower half of the back. Click here to know more!

8th House: Also known as Randhra Bhava, it governs longevity, death, and sudden evens of one’s life. Sudden gains and losses and the share of properties come under this house realm. 

It can bring miseries, chronic illness, depression, lack of mental peace, imprisonment, etc., to the person affected by it. 

Various body parts rules by this house include external sexual organs and pelvic bones.  To know more, click here.

9th House: Also known as Dharma Bhava in Vedic astrology, it deals with your higher learnings, dharma, good karma, immigration and, religious instincts. 

Various parts of the body that come under this house are the arterial system, left leg, bone marrow, thigh bones, and thighs. To know more, click here.

10th House: Also known as Karma Bhava, it deals with your work, profession, reputation, prestige, etc. The planetary positions in this house define your area of occupation. 

Various body parts governed by this house are joints, bones, kneecaps, and knees. For more, click here.

11th House: It is the house of prosperity and is an indicator of income and wealth, money and fame, and plays a significant role in figuring out what brings you profits. 

Various body parts governed by it include the left arm, left ear, chin bone, right leg, and ankle. For more information, click here. 

12th House: It is the house of self-undoing, unconscious, and imprisonment. The weak 12th house may give the native detachment from his parents, partner, friends, and neighbours. To know more about this house, click here.

You may read more about Planets in astrology, Planetary transits and its effectsIndian festivals & muhurats and 27 Nakshatras and its characteristics.

Astrology Secrets